Post Election Update

11/13/2012
JOHN BARDGETT & ASSOCIATES
Governmental & Public Relations Consultants

MEMORANDUM

FROM: John E. Bardgett, Jr. John Bardgett & Associates, Inc.

DATE: November 12, 2012

RE: Post Election Update

--

As was to be expected following the November 6th election, Missouri stayed its course politically, seeing very few, if any, surprising election results. Gov. Mitt Romney (R) won Missouri by 11 points as predicted, and all United States Senate and House seats were retained by the incumbents. The only change occurred in CD-2 where Ann Wagner (R) won as anticipated. In the Missouri Legislature, Republicans will continue to hold a veto-proof majority in the Senate, even after losing two seats (24R 10D). The House Republicans picked up the few seats necessary to increase their stronghold to a veto-proof majority, which requires 109 votes (110R 53D). With a Democratic governor, this super majority will prove to be extremely important.

Statewide Offices

Missouri had five statewide seats up for election with contested races in each. Incumbents Governor Jay Nixon (D), Lt.Gov. Peter Kinder (R), State Treasurer Clint Zweifel (D), and Attorney General Chris Koster (D) were all re-elected. Attorney General Koster was re-elected by more than 15 points, causing some to speculate early on that he will be looking to run for Governor on the Democratic ticket in four years. Despite all of the controversy facing Lt. Governor Kinder from a year ago, he emerged as the only Republican to be elected statewide.

The only new statewide official elected was Secretary of State Jason Kander (D). Rep. Kander is a current state representative from Kansas City. He will replace Robin Carnahan (D) who decided not to seek re-election after losing a bid for the United States Senate two years ago.

Redistricting and Term-Limits

Once again, because of term limits and redistricting, there will be a number of new faces in the Missouri Legislature on January 9th. This was the first election for Missouri's new legislative districts following the contentious redistricting process. Missouri House Democrats were able to pick up a few seats in Jefferson County but, in the end,

Republicans picked up enough seats to gain a veto-proof majority.

If you would like to view the new districts, you may click on the links below to access the 2012 redistricting maps. The biggest change from the redistricting process was the move of Senate District #10. This district previously was located in Jackson County and was represented by Sen. Justus (D Kansas City). Sen. Justus district was relocated to the eastern side of the state just west of St. Louis County to Troy, Missouri and the surrounding counties. This new district essentially replaces former Sen. Jane Cunningham s district (R St. Louis County).

Missouri State Senate new districts map: http://oa.mo.gov/bp/redistricting/pdf/2012/Statewide final.pdf

Missouri House of Representatives new districts map: http://oa.mo.gov/bp/redistricting/documents/House%20Apportionment%20Plan%208.5x11% 20Statewide.pdf

Missouri Senate

Before the November elections, Republicans held 26 of the 34 Missouri Senate seats and Democrats held 8. Democrats picked up two seats to increase their minority to 10. In January, the make-up of the Senate will be 24 Republicans and 10 Democrats, with Republicans retaining a veto proof majority.

In a hotly contested race in Senate District #1 - South St. Louis County, Sen. Jim Lembke (R) was defeated in his bid for re-election by Rep. Scott Sifton (D).

The two most watched open Senate seats were both won by the Republican candidates. Senate District #3 - St. Genevieve, previously held by Sen. Kevin Engler (R - Farmington), was picked up by political novice and businessman Gary Romine (R) who defeated Rep. Joe Fallert (D). In Senate District #25 Dexter, which was vacated by term-limited Republican Rob Mayer, President Pro Tem, businessman Doug Libla (R) defeated Rep. Terry Swinger (D) by more than 12 points.

The Senate Leadership teams will include the following:

Senate Majority Leadership

- · President Pro Tem Sen. Tom Dempsey (R St. Charles)
- · Majority Floor Leader Sen. Ron Richard (R Joplin)
- · Assistant Majority Floor Leader Sen. Mike Kehoe (R Jefferson City)
- · Majority Caucus Whip Sen. Brian Nieves (R Washington)
- · Majority Caucus Chair Sen. Eric Schmitt (R St. Louis County)
- · Majority Caucus Secretary Sen. Jay Wasson (R Nixa)

Senate Minority Leadership

- · Minority Floor Leader Sen. Jolie Justus (D Kansas City)
- · Assistant Minority Floor Leader Sen. Kiki Curls (D Kansas City)
- · Minority Caucus Chair Sen. Joe Keaveny (D St. Louis City)
- · Minority Caucus Secretary Sen. Gina Walsh (D St. Louis County)

In the Senate Majority Caucus meeting on Thursday, November 8th, members promised to focus on education and jobs in the next legislative session. Senate President Pro Tem Tom Dempsey said the acronym "BIG" describes the GOP's priorities, which includes: "Build" infrastructure, "Invest" in education and "Grow" the economy.

Missouri House of Representatives

In the House, incumbent Republicans lost two races to Democratic challengers, and Democratic incumbents lost two races to Republican challengers. In three of the most contested races, Democrats won two of those three. However, this minimal success was not enough to pick up any seats and, in fact, the Missouri House saw a shift, due in part to redistricting, that allowed Republicans to easily pick up four additional seats to provide them with a super majority of 110 seats out of 163. In January, the House will have a make-up of 110 Republicans to 53 Democrats.

Here are several election outcomes of interest:

- · District 5 Incumbent Rep. Tom Shively (D) defeated by Rep. Lindell Shumake (R)
- · District 20 Incumbent Rep. Brent Lasater (R) defeated by John Mayfield (D)
- · District 40 Incumbent Rep. Paul Quinn (D) defeated by Jim Hansen (R)
- · District 44 Political newcomer Caleb Rowden (R) defeated former Senator Ken Jacob (D)
- · District 94 Rep. Cloria Brown (R) defeated by former Rep. Vicki Englund (D). (It is important to note that in 2010, Brown defeated Englund to take this seat)
- · District 111 Former Rep. Michael Frame (D) defeated Derrick Good (R) for an open seat after losing re-election in 2010.
- · District 113 Former Rep. Jeff Roorda defeated Dan Smith (R) for an open seat after losing re-election in 2010.

The House Leadership teams will include the following:

House Majority Leadership

- · Speaker Rep. Tim Jones (R St. Louis County)
- · Speaker Pro Tem Rep. Jason Smith (R Salem)
- · Majority Floor Leader Rep. John Diehl (R St. Louis County)
- · Assistant Majority Floor Leader Rep. Mike Cierpiot (R Lee s Summit)
- · Majority Whip Rep. Sandy Crawford (R Buffalo)
- · Majority Caucus Secretary Rep. Mike Bernskoetter (R Jefferson City)
- · Majority Caucus Chair Rep. Shelley Keeney (R Marble Hill)

House Minority Leadership

- · Minority Floor Leader Jake Hummel (D St. Louis)
- · Assistant Minority Floor Leader Rep. Gail McCann Beatty (D Kansas City)
- · Minority Caucus Whip Rep. John Rizzo (D Kansas City)
- · Minority Caucus Chair Rep. Steve Webb (D St. Louis County)
- · M